Search records

Scope & Content: Inscription reads as follows: "To the glory of God / and in everlasting memory of / the men of Kirk Braddan / who gave their lives in the Great War 1914-1918."

41 names listed alphabetically;
First World War.

Also: "To the glory of God and in everlasting / memory of the men of Kirk Braddan who / gave their lives in the world war / 1939-1945."

19 names listed alphabetically;
Second World War.

Column and cross made of Manx slate. The column is on a Manx stone base of three tiers, on which the names are added. The column is topped by the cross of St Brendan.

The memorial was unveiled on Sunday 04 September 1921 by Mr G. Drinkwater, M.L.C., J.P. The vicar of the parish, Rev. W. A. Rushworth, M.A., was also present. Mr H. Dunn, an ex-sergeant, conducted the sounding of the 'Last Post'. The first wreath was laid by the Captain of the Parish.

The memorial was previously located in the centre of the main Douglas to Peel road, at its junction with Saddle Road. On 12 May 1961, it was moved to its present location by the side of the road in St Brendan's church grounds, as it was considered a hazard to the increased flow of traffic on the road.

The cross was designed and carved by Mr T.H. Royston of Douglas, who based his design on an existing Runic memorial stone within the Old Braddan churchyard. The memorial is of the same blue slate as the old Braddan cross.

Information provided by the Isle of Man Government Preservation of War Memorials Committee.
Image courtesy of Chris Blyth, Isle of Man Photographic Society.

Find on Map or Report Condition

Administration / Biographical History: Custodian: Braddan Parish Commissioners; Faculty Protection: Yes

Item name: Braddan Parish War Memorial

ID number: IOM_NIWM_BRA_00001

Comments

Optional, not displayed

Manx National Heritage (MNH) will always put you in control of the information we send you. Read our privacy policy